Home » Being Ready » To Know Christ Crucified – W.E. Smith

To Know Christ Crucified – W.E. Smith

For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. (1 Cor. 2:2)

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. (Gal. 2:20)

May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. (Gal 6:14)

For to be sure, he was crucified in weakness, yet he lives by God’s power. Likewise, we are weak in him, yet by God’s power we will live with him in our dealing with you. (2 Cor. 13:4)

Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. (Gal 5:24)

Dear beloved and precious end-time saints -

The only way we can truly and personally know Christ crucified is to be crucified with Him. Paul is not suggesting here that he wishes to know “about” Christ crucified – to know this as a mere doctrine or a teaching, but we see elsewhere what he really meant – to enter into the experience of Christ crucified; the work of the cross for the dying to the life of the self and this world. This is that part of the gospel that so many, even myself on my best days, simply don’t want to hear or experience.

Why?

Because it is so terribly hard and painful; so penetrating and deep. Yet this is the singular path for the increase of the life of God in us, all of us, not just the Pauls and the great saints we quote so much in our writings.

Oh my dear brothers and sisters – to die to ourselves, to all we are, to all we know, to this world and our place in it, whatever that means to each of us personally. Bitterness, betrayal, anguish, the very deepest and lingering kind of sorrow and heaviness – such that there is nothing of us left. NOTHING. Such that we no longer have any confidence, any resource, and instinct left in ourselves. Everything goes up to the cross, even things that are not inherently bad or evil. Our freedom for example, our options and opportunities in this world, our physical health, our names and titles, our family and our children even, our little securities and situations that if we are honest mean so very much to us.

Oh Lord, in your grace and mercy, help us!  Lift us up Lord but then fill us with all that You are! Let Your light and life shine forth in us in ever-increasing freedom and flow. Help us to simply get through this day Oh Lord – to remain steadfast, to wait on Thee, to trust You completely and utterly.

Oh dear ones – if one of us is suffering, if one among us is coming to know this cross in a present and personal way, and you know of them, then the Lord fully expects you to bear this one’s burdens, to love them and minister to them, to come along side them as the ever-ministering Spirit makes possible. This is truly the only way any of us can bear so great a weight. To give a drink of water to one of His suffering ones – here is where the richest rewards are found in His kingdom. He is watching in this hour to see how we serve and love one another, for this is the true disciple, the one that all men will see as the one who has love for one another. Ask Him to make known where He wants you to help, to love, to give, to lose yourself in another’s suffering – for my sense in this dread hour is that so many of His own will be going through these crucifying trials in order to bring forth this bride for the groom.

Amen Oh Lord. Amen.

2 thoughts on “To Know Christ Crucified – W.E. Smith

  1. Thank you my brother. Oh how hard this is in reality; yet oh so necessary. Lord help us! You know Lord. You know how heavy this is. Help us to bear it Lord. We pray for grace and ever more love to press even deeper and further into your death and life.

    Wayne

  2. This is such an encouraging word. Shorlty before I read your blog post, I had been looking for a book in my book case. I picked up a book by David Wilkerson called The New Covenant Unveiled. I flipped it open at random to a section that said:

    “When Jesus said, “Take up your cross and follow me me”, he meant, “You will go down the same path to death.” A cross experience is when you think God has turned a deaf ear to your cry for righteousness and holiness. For a season your prayers go unanswered. And your heart rises up and begins to reason:”All I wanted was to be like Jesus – to walk in victory, to be a joy to him, to enjoy sweet communion. but this? Why is there no clear way, no reassurance? Why is this darkness in my soul – this feeling of speaking into God’s ear, yet he appears not to hear? Why does it have to be so complicated?”

    ‘It is at this point in His crucifixion that Jesus broke through the devil’s cloud and cried aloud in faith,”When Jesus had cried with a loud voice, he said, Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit; and having said thus, he gave up the ghost” (luke 23:46)

    ‘Here is where the cross is most powerfully experienced, It happens when in my nothingness, I surrender my will -I quit struggling and striving, I now become wholly dependent on him. The matter is now out of my hands completely, God has to take over. His spirit must take me into death and raise me up as a new man. I give up the ghost, the independent life of flesh. Death to all ambition. Death to boasting and trying to impress others. Death to doing anything on my own. Death to my plans,desires, will. Death to all my striving to please him. And most of all,death to my past flesh-faith. How many times have I struggled to muster up faith and tried to pump it up with promises? I repeated over and over,”Lord,I believe, i do believe, I really believe. I really, truly, honestly believe.” but it didn’t work. (You can always tell a request that’s of the flesh, because it comes with a deadline. We give God what we consider a long enough time to act – but when he doesn’t perform on schedule, our so-called faith turns into ugly unbelief.)

    It was there that I stopped reading. It touched my heart though. And then to read your post – truly makes me aware that my situations and those of my fellow believers are about us coming into a higher place of communion with the Father – if we allow it. Be encouraged, be obedient and may we all lay everything down. Thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

