Home » Being Ready » “Whatever it Takes Lord” – W.E. Smith

“Whatever it Takes Lord” – W.E. Smith

Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us. (Eph. 3:20)

Good morning fellow saints and may the Son rise on each of you this new day! And may He remain our life and light as we venture forth into this dark and increasingly desperate world.

When all seems lost and all seems hopeless; when all is being stripped from us; when so many are rejecting us and casting us off, and there seems no clear way forward; no future and no hope – this, my brethren, is when and where the Lord does His finest and most soul-reaching work. It is when we don’t know what to do, and when there is nothing seemingly we can do, that perhaps we are simply to come to rest in Him. To stand still and see so great a salvation! Although we may be straightened and shut out and shut down even, He is never without a way forward and He is never without the means to affect His purpose in us and in this world through His Beloved Son! Our Great God will not merely show us the way, He will make a way, and indeed, He is the way!

To trust Him with child-like trust, through all the evidence that He is not working and not moving, this is what pleases His heart, most certainly. For when He does act, when He does intervene, when He does ultimately move, it will be at the perfect time and in the perfect manner. He will save us dear ones! He will save us spirit, soul and body – for this is so great and ultimate a salvation! Praise God! He will heal and deliver and restore each of us and fulfill every single one of His great and precious promises given to all those who love Him and have become His children. Oh, how I of all men need to remember this myself to be sure. Oh how I so often search for ‘evidence’ that He is moving, when I should simply come to rest and restfulness in His word of promise and assurance.

All that Satan and his world has robbed of us, the Lord will restore many times over, as the story of Job reminds us. Have we lost friends and family in pursuit of the Lord in all His fullness on this narrow path? Have we lost places of esteem in this world, and its treasure even? Let us seek first His kingdom for all will be restored many times over, in such tremendous and unimaginable fullness and richness. Amen my brethren! Have we been wronged perhaps, deprived of justice and our rightful claims in this world? Well, here to He will vindicate the cause and the claims of the righteous. All the kings and judges of this world will one day stay before each of us, to be thereby judged themselves by the very ones they have wronged and violated. All tables will be turned! All wrongs will be righted! All kingdoms will come under the righteous domain and jurisdiction of the Kingdom of Heaven and its patrons. Even now, they are being prepared, tested, trained, seasoned, forged in the fires of travail and bitterness – such that one day they shall come forth in power and honor -

Or do you not know that the saints will judge the world? If the world is judged by you, are you not competent to constitute the smallest law courts? (1 Cor. 6:2)

Yet the rugged path to honor, as we see in so many lives in the Scriptures (Abraham, Noah, Moses, Jacob, Joseph, the Lord Jesus Himself, Paul and the Apostles…) is so long and painful it seems. There is a cross (rejection, death, burial) standing between the two points. So much in us has to go, so much has to give way to the image of the Son of Man. Ignominy will however, one day soon, give way to glory and honor among the High Counsel of the King Jesus. There will resurrection to glory and restoration, not only of our things, but to the Creator’s original intent and purpose for creating man.

Many years ago, my brothers, I prayed the words – “Whatever it takes Lord…” Now a word of caution should you ever feel compelled to utter these words. He will take you at your word, and then lo and behold you will start to see things starting to fall away and being stripped from you. Not all at once perhaps, but progressively over time until very little of anything you once were and once had remains. Many of you on this narrow path know perfectly what we are suggesting here. One day you will be alone in the stillness wondering what just happened to you; where had your life gone; everything that once defined you? Where is your fishing boat and tax booth and all of the honors once bestowed as a member of the religious establishment? Where is your wife and children? Why doesn’t anything seem to work anymore like it once did; relying on your natural instincts and talents; your innate resources; your quick thoughts and plans, your persuasive tongue? Your network of worldly associates and contacts? Why doesn’t even the church on the corner seem to satisfy anymore? Why does the word emanating from the preacher with the bronze voice and seminary education seem so hollow and superficial?

“If your hand causes you to stumble, cut it off; it is better for you to enter life crippled, than, having your two hands, to go into hell, into the unquenchable fire,[where THEIR WORM DOES NOT DIE, AND THE FIRE IS NOT QUENCHED.]“If your foot causes you to stumble, cut it off; it is better for you to enter life lame, than, having your two feet, to be cast into hell,[where THEIR WORM DOES NOT DIE, AND THE FIRE IS NOT QUENCHED.]“If your eye causes you to stumble, throw it out; it is better for you to enter the kingdom of God with one eye, than, having two eyes, to be cast into hell,where THEIR WORM DOES NOT DIE, AND THE FIRE IS NOT QUENCHED. (Mark 9:42-48)

My brethren, you will become like one who is wondering what just happened to his hands and his feet and his eyes; you will feel crippled and clumsy, like you are not altogether what you once were. “Whatever it takes Lord…” Before He makes us whole in His Son, the Father must must perform painful, radical and debilitating surgery. He must amputate all that we once were – all of our plans, opinions, persuasions, prejudices, confidences, goals and ambitions; all that we see and feel about about everything pertaining to life and fulfillment. Before the great Physician can restore, replace and heal, He must first remove and separate. He must bring that poor soul to the very end of itself, such that it peers over the abyss and sees only darkness and death. He must come to the place that all that stands before Him is the Lord and His Salvation, saying “Follow me and Taste and see.” Everything else is gone!

Dear reader – I do read rather extensively but nothing I have shared here has come from anything written by anyone else. Please know that! This is the raw experience of all those that have bled and wept and wondered as they have pursued so wonderful a being as the Father’s Righteous and Glorious Son!

Please be encouraged this new day fellow remnant Christian. Please know that I love all of you and thank you immensely for your prayers and your hearts and your joining together with us. Please pray for our enemies and those who seek our harm as instruments of the adversary. Pray the Lord will save them miraculously, and bring them to brokenness on the Rock that is His Son! Pray that all hatefulness and bitterness will give way to mercy and loving-kindness. Pray for all those who name the name of the Lord Jesus but know little of His life and way and truth. Everything they have trusted in apart from the Lord Himself is collapsing and crumbling around them – and soon they will know quite abruptly and painfully that their sure foundation has been something other than the Lord.

With deep love, in Christ Jesus our King!

WES

7 thoughts on ““Whatever it Takes Lord” – W.E. Smith

  1. Thank you for your much needed prayers Wayne. You and I have in fact were in contact 7-8 yrs ago via phone, because we live in the same area(Grove City). Sometime in the recent past I found your site through a link on NTRF I think. I have been blessed by reading some of your messages and other’s comments to them; knowing that I am not alone in my experience of recent. I also listened to “The Day” audio last night and realized the importance of being connected with others as the day draws near. This past month because of being “put out” of fellowship, I have even questioned wanting to ever be involved intimately in the lives of other believers. Living daily life with others is a hard thing, making oneself vulnerable by letting the light shine on ones own sins and weaknesses. But that is what our Lord calls us to; just a “taste” of it for the last four years lets me squash the thoughts of giving up on assembling with others in my area.

    Christina

  2. intothegatesofjerusalem…

    Thank you for sharing so openly, and for affirming what we have shared. There is, I feel in my spirit, a splitting asunder of all that He desires as His perfected bride, the one who loves Him above all else, willing even in imperfect ways to case all else aside in our hearts. It is a lonely, often bitter path to share in the fellowship of His sufferings, to not leave Him in His time of trial when all others have departed – yet this is all we can do for we have seem the King; we have tasted the bread of Heaven come down; we have drunk from the well of life!

    You are in my prayers this evening dear sister.

    Wayne

  3. This message is my life these last two months, Wayne. I find myself alone with the Lord for the first time in almost four and half years, having been cast away from a group of brethren because of not being “likeminded” in spirit. In other words, declaring that I am not of the Lord. A few days after the severance of ties, I remembered my prayers of many months; that he would remove me from the business(a partnership I shared with two others of the group) and the constant tension that was always tugging between another person and me. Praying that “however you would want to do it, I receive. Because you know what’s best for me” This happened after over many months of bearing my soul to many others about fears and sinful thoughts going on for years inside of me. Freedom was mine for the taking when Light was exposed on my thought life. The Lord had showed me the way out, reminding me of what he had done for me through His Son and that life was mine, and that clinging to Him was the answer. Not listening carefully to Him years ago about where I needed to be in my calling as a wife and mother, I went headlong into disobeying Him, presuming His will for me was in that business with other brothers and sisters, and not seeing my physical family hardly at all and neglecting them and my responsibilities at home. I heard the Lord’s voice one day in the midst of a trial at home, clearly speaking through my husband’s words(and he is a unbeliever!). When I heard, I obeyed. It feels so freeing to become a slave of righteousness :)

  4. Thank you all for your words of affirmation and encouragement my dear brethren. This season right now is one of extreme testing and difficulty. It is only by the Lord’s rich grace that I am standing right now, yet barely. We are so very weak yet He is our strength. It is at such times that we need others in the body, for that wonderful and fruitful living fellowship that we read about n the New Testament; where we are one in every way. Oh let us pray and and intercede for one another in this dark time my friends. I love you all and thank the Lord for your words and prayers and heart for me and my family, I who am least among the saints of God.

    Wayne

  5. Beloved brother, I was moved in the spirit by your latest post and I want to say Amen to all your words. Truly they come from experiencing our Lord, not from reading about Him. What you describe so closely resembles my own experience of the chastising loving and building hand of Lord Jesus that I decided to encourage you, brother, that we are all in the same spiritual boat and “in the sea there were other boats”. All my travails ceased immediately when I gave up all resistance in the flesh, kissed the chastising rod, and an ineffable peace ensued amidst tribulations and sorrows, a piece comprehensible and enjoyable only in the spirit. Oh, how great and unfathomable is the wisdom of God! And how abundant is His mercy!
    May the Lord of peace bless you richly, dear rother!

  6. Beautiful photo of the “Son” . It reminds me of that verse in Proverbs 4:18 – the path of the righteous is like the light of dawn which grows brighter and brighter until the full day. It also reminds me that the nearer we come to the “Son” the hotter it will be in the flesh – until the full day – as you say “…in such tremendous and unimaginable fullness and richness.” There is a purpose for everything, and to see it all from God’s viewpoint may possibly be somewhat achievable through prayer.

    It is finally spring-like weather here in Canada. My favorite season because of the new growth in trees and plants, and out of the death of a seed comes new life! As the dandelions were being uprooted from the lawn; the hole it made was filled with first the soil and then the new lawn seed. It made me think of how the things in the flesh (you know, the bitter ones like the taste of dandelion leaves!) are painfully uprooted with the purpose to be filled with the good seed of the Word of God which produces new growth in the Spirit.

    With prayers and intercession and love in the Lord.

  7. This is so happening to me. More and more Father is working on me. I’m losing many of the things you talked about. Some days feeling torn about it and others totally realizing why. We get so wrapped up in the worlds/America’s ideas of well being, the perfect kids, perfect family, making money and compare ourselves to others wondering why we can’t have what they have. Asking what are we doing wrong. Most days I realize…nothing is wrong. God is changing me.. everything is right. We truly must give up this world we live in as our way of life, as hard as that seems in the flesh. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

