The Lord is My Portion – W.E. Smith

So many delusions and distractions today it seems, diverting the saints of God from essential things – so many forms and shadows that appear useful on the surface, to the natural wisdom, but so decidedly misplaced in terms of where we are in His ultimate plan and purpose.

michelangelo_jeremiahI was out walking the other night and conversing with the Lord, when out of nowhere I said something like – “Lord, I want you to be my only portion; I want to be satisfied with you alone.” He then started to reveal the oh so many things on my mind and in my heart that are currently my “portion” – things I trust in and rely upon and look to. When I got back home, I opened the Scriptures because this whole concept of having only God as our share or portion was something that seemed so powerful and real.

Consider the following passages (in no particular order) -

The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him. (from Jeremiah) Lamentations 3:24

The LORD is the portion of mine inheritance and of my cup: thou maintainest my lot. The lines are fallen unto me in pleasant places; yea, I have a goodly heritage. Psalms 16:5

One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple. Psalms 27:4

O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is; To see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary. Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee. Psalms 63:1

Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none [RSV: nothing] upon earth that I desire beside thee. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion for ever. Psalms 73:25

How amiable are thy tabernacles, O LORD of hosts! My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the LORD: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God. Psalms 84:1

For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand. I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness. Psalms 84:10

Thou art my portion, O LORD: I have said that I would keep thy words. Psalms 119:57

I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul. I cried unto thee, O LORD: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living. Psalms 142:4

Yea, in the way of thy judgments, O LORD, have we waited for thee; the desire of our soul is to thy name, and to the remembrance of thee. Isaiah 26:8

But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ. Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ, And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith: Philippians 3:7

But He said to them, “I have food to eat that you do not know about.” So the disciples were saying to one another, “No one brought Him {anything} to eat, did he?” Jesus *said to them, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me and to accomplish His work. Jhn 4:32

The concept of selling or releasing all that we have and are such that we can attain the Lord God (not His gifts and blessings, but Himself as the gift and the ultimate blessing) as our portion, and be satisfied is a powerful one in the Bible, touching the very heart of His desire for His children. Consider the hard and horrendous life of Jeremiah, how he was asked to forsake all – his family, his calling in the priesthood, his nation, a bride and family of his own, his reputation, everything – all he would be permitted to have was the Lord his God.

“The Lord is my portion.”

My friends, perhaps take some time to read the Book of Jeremiah and Lamentations prayerfully, and ask the Lord to lead you to His conclusions about how it might recognize your need for a prophet’s heart and conviction.

The times in Jeremiah’s day were very much like our own – anticipation and impending judgment, uncertainty, false and natural religion; an entire generation of believers professing true things but not partaking of the one True thing; pride and trust in the temple or the church, and the activities of such as though by this the Lord God who sees the whole heart is impressed or satisfied. False prophets abounding with words of peace, peace and the easy way. And all the time Babylon is knocking at the door.

father_prayingMy friends, I really don’t know what will happen; what circumstances or losses I will be asked to bear in order that He might know that I love Him, and that in Him as my only portion I will hope and be satisfied. This world means nothing to me, but I do have a wife and son whom I love deeply and dearly. In fact, they have been very much my portion for many years. I secretly fear that perhaps my love for them has often crossed the line into that dangerous area where idolatry begins. This is not a syrupy romantic, natural love as the world might recognize it – but a love born of time and dependence and belonging.

Am I ready to give them up if necessary? I can’t answer that, only He can. But far greater men than I have been asked to give up far more. Again, consider the 40-50 years of Jeremiah’s faithful service to the Lord; where our Lord’s words were the prophet’s very breath and food keeping him alive. Oh to sell all that we have, to relinquish all that hinders and obscures His purposes in us, to release ourselves completely like a little child falling into his father’s arms behind him.

Yes, the oil is His life flowing into us and through us and out of us. In this sense can we ever have enough of His fullness and essence. He is the living and flowing dynamic, the spark of divine existence and being, that gives wings to the dust that we are.

Is He alone your portion brethren?

Perhaps it is time to go to him quietly now and let Him search all that is in your heart (just a thought). Are you content with Him alone? Is He your one true desire? Have you discovered Him as the strength of your heart and life? If all else were required of you – all that you love and hold dear – would you let it go gladly that you might have Him, and Him alone? Is He your Infinite Supply or do you seek something elsewhere – in religion, or community perhaps, in the warm and familiar embrace of loved ones? Would you be willing – as the prophet Jeremiah – to be hated and considered an enemy by your family, your church, your pastor – such that you would enter into the Love and Blessing of the Eternal God?

Why is it brethren that we covet the oh so many things, even GOOD things (of and by themselves), when the very BEST thing is -

God Himself.

And here’s another thought -

If indeed we were that last generation of faithful servants before The Son of God returns for His own – should He not be the only one we trust and turn to in this darkest hour, when all is being aligned in opposition against Himself and His testimony on the earth? If this world and even the “church” of His day utterly and brutally rejected Him, then will we be willing in this day also to suffer that rejection with Him, when “no man” would know him or “care for his soul”?

I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul. I cried unto thee, O LORD: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living. (Psalms 142:4 )

job_1-21Dear saints, try to imagine if you will that everyone, and I mean everyone – including friends, family, fellow church members – has abandoned and rejected you; that they have cut you off from among them, then spoiled your goods, and left you festering on some dump heap somewhere to die. You had nothing, it would seem, as the world reckons it. Penniless, friendless, naked, alone… What would you have at that very moment? Would all be lost? Would you be as Job and curse the day you were conceived? Would you reckon your life’s account to have a zero balance?

I will never leave you or abandon you.” (Heb 13:5)

Oh dear ones why does it seem that He is never enough for us? How fouled and wicked are our hearts that He whom we should love the most, and be satisfied with above and in place of all else – is the one portion that we esteem so lightly? So many people and things and activities and pursuits that we always seem to so easily and naturally put before  HIM! Amazing isn’t? Astounding! Oh Lord saves us from ourselves and our blind and covetous hearts!

Here is a spiritual insight that I hope and pray you will receive my friends, and it is this –

True godly contentment can never be attained unless and until the Lord Our God becomes our only portion! Amen.

And here is a a very serious question that I believe we would do well to answer honestly once and for all – Is prayer merely a means to an end for us, or is the time we spend in intimate fellowship with our Lord the ultimate end in our life? Do we seek Himself or His blessings in other words?

Hmmm.

“The Lord is my portion.” wrote Jeremiah and the Psalmist. “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me and to accomplish His work“, affirmed our Lord. If all we have is the Lord God, brethren, will that be enough for us? What now is our portion in this life? Are we willing to suffer the loss of it – whatever it might be, such that we might gain Christ in all His fullness and provision?

Oh Heavenly Father – we give praise and glory and honor to You and for Your Most Precious Son; so hard and deep are such thoughts oh Lord! Oh that in your Precious Son we might enter into Thee as our only portion and provision; into all your grace and fullness, into all your ever-abounding life and blessing. Food indeed, we have beside meat for the natural body – and that food and vitality is Thee. Grant that we might have the oil of overcoming – the life that flows from Thee – flowing and moving in us as your little children. Claim us as your own dear Father, claim us from the world and the evil one and all others who might seek to steal us away from your heart! Make us ready and worthy for all that is coming to test the hearts of men – whether they truly love Thee or not. Forgive us Oh Father, for so weak and feeble are our hands and our hope. Make us holy in thy Son; that all the world might see your Glory, Your Splendor, Your Beauty and Your Righteous Judgments! In Jesus we pray. AMEN

Please pray for us here at Living-Walk, that we would watch and see the Master at work, and understand what He would have us do.

Your friend and servant in Christ Jesus,

Wayne

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers